top of page
Search
Writer's pictureAutumn Hague

Pillars of a Healthy Pregnancy Diet




Navigating a healthy diet during pregnancy was a rollercoaster ride, especially considering the unexpected cravings that seemed to hit me out of nowhere. As much as I knew the importance of balanced nutrition for the well-being of my baby and myself, giving in to my cravings, like those irresistible Chef Boyardee spaghetti and chicken nuggets, sometimes became a real struggle.


Finding a balance between my body’s demands and the nutritional needs of my growing baby became a daily challenge. It seemed that my cravings had a mind of their own, steering me towards comfort foods like Chef Boyardee spaghetti and chicken nuggets. These cravings were intense and persistent, making it difficult to resist their allure.


In the face of such cravings, maintaining a healthy diet required careful planning and a good deal of willpower. I had to get creative. Instead of completely denying myself, I found ways to compromise. I started experimenting with healthier versions of my favorite comfort foods. Whole wheat pasta with homemade marinara sauce and baked chicken nuggets became my go-to alternatives. These substitutions allowed me to satisfy my cravings while ensuring that my baby and I were still getting the essential nutrients we needed.


Additionally, I discovered the power of moderation. Instead of indulging in my cravings every day, I allowed myself occasional treats. This moderation helped me curb my cravings without completely derailing my healthy eating plan. It was all about finding a balance between enjoying the foods I craved and nourishing my body with the right nutrients.


Another strategy was surrounding myself with healthier options. Stocking up on fresh fruits, vegetables, lean proteins, and whole grains made it easier to make nutritious choices. Having these foods readily available in my kitchen encouraged me to prepare balanced meals, even when the temptation of Chef Boyardee spaghetti or chicken nuggets was looming.


Top 10 Pillars of a healthy pregnancy diet:

  1. Balanced Nutrition: Aim to consume a mix of fruits, vegetables, whole grains, lean proteins, and dairy products.

  2. Folic Acid: Foods rich in folate include leafy green vegetables, citrus fruits, and legumes. Many prenatal vitamins also contain folic acid but be careful as too much may lead to increased nausea.

  3. Iron: Include iron-rich foods like lean meats, poultry, fish, fortified cereals, and legumes in your diet. Consuming vitamin C-rich foods (such as citrus fruits) alongside iron-rich foods can enhance iron absorption.

  4. Calcium: If you are lactose intolerant like me, opt for lactose-free or fortified alternatives like almond milk or soy milk.

  5. Protein: Include sources of lean protein such as poultry, fish, eggs, tofu, legumes, and nuts in your diet.

  6. Omega 3-Fatty acids: Include sources of omega-3s like fatty fish (such as salmon and sardines), flaxseeds, and walnuts in your diet.

  7. Hydration: Proper hydration supports the increased blood volume during pregnancy and can help alleviate common pregnancy discomforts

  8. Limiting Caffeine: High caffeine intake has been associated with adverse pregnancy outcomes, so it's advisable to limit your caffeine intake

  9. Avoid the no no list: Some foods, like undercooked meats, unpasteurized dairy products, and raw seafood, can carry harmful bacteria

  10. Moderation: Pregnancy is not a time to go on a restrictive diet, but it's also not a time to indulge excessively.



Support was key. My partner and close friends played a significant role in my journey. They encouraged me to make healthier choices and joined me in exploring new recipes that satisfied my cravings while aligning with my pregnancy nutrition goals. Their encouragement kept me motivated and reminded me of the importance of staying on track.


It wasn't always easy, and there were moments of weakness when I succumbed to my cravings. And that was okay. Pregnancy was a time of immense change, both physically and emotionally. Being kind to myself and understanding that occasional indulgences didn't define my overall diet was crucial.


In the end, my pregnancy diet became a story of balance, compromise, and self-compassion. Yes, there were moments of weakness, but there were also triumphs as I discovered creative ways to indulge my cravings while nourishing my body and my baby with the essential nutrients we needed. It was a journey of learning and adapting, a journey that ultimately led to a healthier me and a healthy, happy baby.



Get your free Meal Plan below!


0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page